McCormick and Schmick’s.

Today is the last day of Restaurant Week and my boyfriend and I didn’t get a chance to go to another place until today. We decided to go check out somewhere that wasn’t close downtown and also one that we were able to get into since most locations were booked. McCormick and Schmick’s has always been a place I’ve heard good things about, but never tried, so we decided to check it out.

Most of the items that they have on their Restaurant Week menu are items that aren’t normally on their regular menu. For $35 a person, it’s a three-course meal with an appetizer, entree and dessert. I decided to try the Thai Curry Black Mussels, Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna and the Molten Lava Chocolate Cake. He got the Kung Pao Calamari, Cherry Crusted Wild Isle Organic Scottish Salmon and the Blueberry Ginger Crisp.

First things first, the Thai Curry Black Mussels and Kung Pao Calamari are “Asian inspired” dishes. I mean, regardless of the fact that they’re not authentic, it was still very yummy. The mussels were in a sweeter red curry sauce but you can taste that there was butter in it. The sauce was also accompanied with onions, red bell pepper, mushrooms, herbs, and spices (which I gave the mushrooms to my boyfriend cause I hate them). The mussels were small, but fresh and the sauce just took them to another level. The calamari was perfectly breaded and crunchy, but not overcooked. There was a light amount of kung pao sauce, which tasted sweet, and the amount wasn’t too much so it didn’t make the calamari soggy. It was also mixed with banana peppers and pickled jalapeños which I didn’t expect, but it gave it a nice sour kick.

The entree portions that came out were modest, which was perfect. The ahi tuna had the sesame seed crust that gave the ahi tuna a perfect smokiness and crunch for the salty and soft tuna. It was ok a bed of risotto mixed with edamame and mushrooms (again, giving them to my boyfriend). I had a feeling the dish was going to be amazing, but I didn’t think it was going to be THAT amazing. The salmon dish was good too. There was a sweet cherry sauce on top of the salmon and everything was on a bed or potatoes and zucchini.

We don’t normally eat desserts st restaurants, but it was part of the menu. The chocolate cake has vanilla ice cream on top with chocolate syrup drizzled over. The best part of the cake was the truffle baked inside that literally melted. It wasn’t too sweet, but it was so moist. I’m not a blueberry person, but the dessert has actual blueberries with a baked crumble on top and ice cream to tie everything up.

All in all, McCormick and Schmick’s was one of the better seafood places I’ve been to in Columbus. My first experience there was beyond what I excpected it to be. I’m excited to go again and try other items!

Leave a Reply

