Cornerstone Deli and Café.

Cornerstone is one of my favorite hidden gems that Columbus has to offer. It’s definitely not your normal deli, since it serves the obvious deli food but also sushi and Asian dishes. The other plus about this place is you get your bang for your buck with cheap prices and hearty portions.

I decided to get my out of the norm dish from there today which is their Thai Curry Chicken (the dish also comes in a shrimp option). Now, this is one of the dishes I grew up eating, but for a restaurant that doesn’t specify in Thai food, the curry isn’t bad. It has more veggies than I’m used to for a curry such as broccoli, cauliflower, onions, bell peppers, zucchini, and carrots. If you like spice like me, it doesn’t come spicy. I even asked for extra spicy and it was a small kick for me. Overall, the dish is a traditional Thai panang curry which is a sweeter red curry a.k.a. one of my favorite Thai dishes. The veggies are super crunchy and the portion of rice to curry was even.

Hands down one of my favorite dishes from there is the Spicy Salmon Sushi Bowl. It has rice, salmon, spicy mayo, sesame seeds, seaweed salad, and cucumber. My tip for this bowl is that they give more rice than salmon so ask for double salmon when you order it. Everything is so fresh and the crunch of the cucumbers gives great texture to the bowl since everything else is soft. The creaminess of the spicy mayo ties the whole bowl together and when you’re finished with the bowl, it’s not overwhelming on the stomach which is a good feeling after you eat the generous quantity.

Not only is this place affordable and gracious with their portions, the menu is so large that you will never stop trying new things. It’s very good quality and fresh ingredients through all the dishes. I can’t wait to eat more food from here!

Leave a Reply

